Public Holidays & School Terms

Sun setting over crowd

A table of NSW public holiday dates approved and proposed for years 2014 to 2015. 

 

2014

2015

New Year's Day

Wednesday, 1 January

Thursday, 1 January

**Australia Day 

Monday, 27 January

Monday, 26 January

Good Friday 

Friday, 18 April

Friday, 3 April

Easter Saturday 

Saturday, 19 April

Saturday, 4 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 20 April

Sunday, 5 April

Easter Monday 

Monday, 21 April

Monday, 6 April

Anzac Day 

Friday, 25 April

Saturday, 25 April

Queen's Birthday 

Monday, 9 June

Monday, 8 June

*Bank Holiday 

Monday, 4 August

Monday, 3 August

Labour Day 

Monday, 6 October

Monday, 5 October

Christmas Day public holiday

Thursday, 25 December

Friday, 25 December

Boxing Day

Friday, 26 December

Saturday, 26 December

#Additional Day

 

Monday, 28 December


* Applies to banks and certain financial institutions see Retail Trading Act 2008.
** From 31/12/11 when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.
# When 26 December (Boxing Day) is a Saturday, there is to be an additional public holiday on the following Monday.

NSW Government Schools Term Dates 2014

The Department of Education and Communities sets the term and school holiday dates for all New South Wales public schools.

Independent schools and Catholic schools base their holidays on the state school dates but these can vary from school to school - check with your independent or Catholic school for details.

Term 1 for teachers
(Eastern division)

Tuesday, 28 January 2014 

Friday, 11 April 2014 

Term 1 for students
(Eastern division)

Wednesday, 29 January 2014 

Friday, 11 April 2014 

Term 1 for teachers
(Western division)

Tuesday, 04 February 2014 

Friday, 11 April 2014 

Term 1 for students
(Western division)

Wednesday, 05 February 2014 

Friday, 11 April 2014 

Term 2 for teachers
(Eastern and Western division)

Monday, 28 April 2014 

Friday, 27 June 2014 

Term 2 for students
(Eastern and Western division)

Tuesday, 29 April 2014 

Friday, 27 June 2014 

Term 3 for teachers
(Eastern and Western division)

Monday, 14 July 2014 

Friday, 19 September 2014 

Term 3 for students (Eastern and Western division)

Tuesday, 15 July 2014 

Friday, 19 September 2014 

Term 4 for teachers
(Eastern and Western division)

Tuesday, 07 October 2014 

Wednesday, 17 December 2014 

Term 4 for students
(Eastern and Western division)

Tuesday, 07 October 2014 

Friday, 19 December 2014