Broken Hill
Broken Hill

Far West Initiative

Published 20th November, 2016

Better outcomes for local communities into the future.

The Far West Initiative connects local councils, non-government organisations (NGOs) and key NSW and Australian government agencies to develop innovative solutions for the unique challenges faced by communities in Far West NSW.

The NSW Government established the initiative in response to recommendations from the Independent Local Government Review Panel and as part of the Fit for the Future reform package.

Who is leading the initiative?

Minister for Local Government the Hon Paul Toole MP is leading the initiative.

Minister Toole established the Far West Initiative Advisory Committee, which has representatives from each Far West council, the regional Aboriginal assembly, NGO service providers, and state and Australian governments.

Former Member for Murray-Darling John Williams is chairing the committee. Both the Office of Local Government and the Department of Premier and Cabinet are coordinating the work of the committee.

Current work

The Far West Advisory Committee has considered options to improve the way the government delivers services and infrastructure to better meets the needs of Far Western communities.

The committee considered five models to determine which would provide the greatest community outcomes. The results are published in the Far West Initiative consultation paper.

Learn more about the Far West Initiative and have your say on the proposed reforms.

Published 20th November, 2016