2017 NSW Women of the Year awards

Published: 8 Mar 2017

Released by: The Premier

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Women Tanya Davies today congratulated the recipients of the 2017 NSW Women of the Year awards at a reception held at the International Convention Centre Sydney.

“The Women of the Year Awards recognise the many inspirational women leading the way in their fields across NSW and the calibre of the finalists was very high,” Ms Berejiklian said.

The winner of the 2017 Premier’s Woman of the Year Award is Associate Professor Catherine Birman.

“As one of the most experienced cochlear implant surgeons in the world, Associate Professor Catherine Birman has helped almost 1000 NSW residents through life-changing procedures,” Ms Berejiklian said.

Mrs Davies congratulated Associate Professor Birman along with the five outstanding winners in the other categories, and thanked them for giving so much to the community.

Other winners in the individual categories are:

  • Community Hero Award – Debbie Higgison
  • Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year Award – Dr Nicole Seebacher
  • REX Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award – Julia Harpham
  • NSW Business Woman of the Year Award – Gina Field
  • NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award – Kristal Kinsela

“Now in their sixth year, these awards support the NSW Government’s commitment to building an equitable, inclusive and safe society where all women are valued and respected, can contribute meaningfully, and can enjoy the rights, freedoms and protections to which everyone in NSW is entitled,” Mrs Davies said.

Top of page