2017 Premier's Awards for Public Service

Published: 2 Nov 2017

Released by: The Premier

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian last night congratulated the winners of the 2017 Premier’s Awards for Public Service at a ceremony in Sydney.

“It is a pleasure to showcase these highly successful initiatives that have been implemented by public sector employees”, Ms Berejiklian said.

The awards recognised the achievements of the public service and its commitment to delivering quality customer services.

“Each of the finalists has demonstrated their dedication to providing exceptional levels of service and innovation in delivering positive results for their customers and communities, and all should be congratulated.”

The focus of the Premier’s Awards this year was on showcasing achievements and progress towards the NSW Premier’s twelve priorities.

These priorities focus on creating a stronger economy, building upon the current infrastructure, providing better services, improving education, caring for the environment, protecting the vulnerable and increasing diversity across the NSW public sector.

The Premier’s Award winners in the individual categories are:

  • Improving Educations Results: Lorraine Bradwell, Head Teacher at Woonona Public School, NSW Public Schools.
  • Improving Government Services: Andrew Dinger, Station Manager, Sydney Trains.
  • Improving Service Levels in Hospitals: Dr Andrea Issler-Fisher, Head of the Scar Clinic at Concord Hospital, Sydney Local Health District.
  • Driving Public Sector Diversity: Glenn Primmer, Head of Strategic Change & Workplace Culture, Create NSW.

The Premier’s Award winners in the team categories are:

  • Improving Education Results: Curiosity and Powerful Learning, St Johns Park Public School, NSW Public Schools
  • Improving Government Services: Ability Links NSW, Ability Links Providers State-wide, Family and Community Services.
  • Improving Service Levels in Hospitals: Bridging Vast Distances with Value Critical Care Model, Western NSW Local Health District.
  • Keeping our Environment Clean: Cessnock Reserves Litter Reduction Strategy, National Parks and Wildlife Service, Office of Environment and Heritage.
  • Protecting our kids: Child Abuse Squad, NSW Police Force.
  • Reducing Domestic Violence: Safer Pathway, Legal Aid NSW, NSW Police, Women NSW, Victims Services at the Department of Justice.
  • Reducing Youth Homelessness: Youth Housing Options Program (YHOP), Hume Community Housing Association.
  • Tackling Childhood Obesity: Aboriginal Go4Fun, NSW Office of Preventative Health.
  • Building Infrastructure: Wynyard Station Upgrade, Transport for NSW, Novo Rail Program Alliance.
  • Creating Jobs: Easy to do Business, Service NSW, Department of Finance, Services & Innovation Better Regulations team, Office of the NSW Small Business Commissioner, Department of Premier and Cabinet.
  • Driving Public Sector Diversity: Employ-my-ability, Sydney Local Health District, Jobsupport.
  • Making Housing More Affordable: Reducing red tape to facilitate investment in our community, Port Stephens Council and More Homes in Hornsby Shire, Hornsby Shire Council.

The winner of the Anthea Kerr Award is:

  • Dr Andrea Issler-Fisher, Head of the Scar Clinic at Concord Hospital, Sydney Local Health District.

The Anthea Kerr Award is awarded in honour of Anthea Kerr, who passed away suddenly at 38 years of age. At the time of Anthea’s death, she was an Assistant Director General at the Department of Finance and Services, a role which was the culmination of an outstanding career of over 16 years in the NSW public sector.

The award recognises future public sector leaders who exhibit in their work a deep commitment to public sector values and identified leadership potential – attributes that Anthea exemplified throughout her working life.

Top of page