Skip to main content

2020 NSW Australians of the Year announced

Published: 4 November 2019
Released by: The Premier

The 2020 NSW Australians of the Year have been announced at a ceremony at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney this evening.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian congratulated Professor Al Muderis, the 2020 NSW Australian of the Year, and NSW’s three other recipients.

“Each year our nation comes together to celebrate the achievements and contributions of Australia’s amazing citizens through the Australian of the Year Awards,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“This year is the sixtieth anniversary of the awards, providing us with a special opportunity to recognise those who make a real and lasting difference in NSW. Every year I’m inspired by the stories of the recipients, and this year is no exception.”

Professor Al Muderis, a pioneering orthopaedic surgeon and human rights advocate, was nominated for his world-renowned surgical innovations and humanitarian work, funding his team to travel to Iraq to treat victims of conflict and educating other surgeons in complex limb reconstruction techniques.

Sue Lennox, an environmental educator and social enterprise founder, is the NSW Senior Australian of the Year. With her late husband Colin, she founded the award-winning social enterprise OzGREEN. It teaches young people how to take positive environmental action through education, leadership and community development.

Corey Tutt, an Indigenous mentor and fundraiser, is the NSW Young Australian of the Year. Through his organisation, Deadly Science, Mr Tutt gathers donations of science resources, and sends them to remote schools around Australia.

Bernie Shakeshaft, founder of BackTrack Youth Works Program, is the NSW Local Hero. After seeing the plight of disadvantaged youth in his community, Mr Shakeshaft took action, turning around the lives of some of Australia’s most vulnerable children.

NSW’s four recipients will join those from other states and territories for the national awards ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra on 25 January 2020.

Top of page