21 new mobile phone towers for the regions

Published: 6 Jul 2020

The NSW Government will deliver new mobile phone towers, and a faster and more reliable wireless broadband internet service to regional communities, courtesy of the $50 million Connecting Country Communities Fund.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro said 21 new mobile phone towers will be delivered in partnership with Optus and Telstra, and the wireless broadband service will be delivered by rural communications carrier Yless4U.

“This funding will contribute to a significant improvement in internet connectivity speeds that will reach more than double current speeds by September 2021, and further improve by May 2025,” Mr Barilaro said. 

“This will improve safety, boost opportunities for businesses, increase community access to services, connect family and friends, and ensure younger residents can access the online educational resources they need.

“The $50 million Connecting Country Communities Fund, complements the NSW Government’s election commitment of $400 million through the Snowy Hydro Legacy Fund to address mobile black spots and internet connectivity in regional NSW.”

Minister for Customer Service Victor Dominello said the funding, which is being delivered in partnership between the Department of Regional NSW and the NSW Telecommunications Authority, is a big win for regional NSW and would help strengthen communities.

“This funding will enhance existing assets including towers, land, fibre and backhaul as well as building new infrastructure to enable communities to be better connected,” Mr Dominello said.

“Now more than ever, access to a strong mobile phone service and faster and more reliable internet is as important as road, rail and electricity infrastructure.”

Areas to benefit from improved internet connectivity under this announcement include:

  • Bungendore
  • Carwoola
  • Collector
  • Googong
  • Gundaroo
  • Gunning
  • Michelago
  • Murrumbateman
  • Royalla
  • Tarago
  • Wallaroo

The 21 new mobile phone towers will be delivered as follows:

Site Location Provider
Fernleigh  Optus
Main Arm Optus
Bourbah   Telstra
Spring Plains Telstra
The Lake Tower  Telstra
Golden Highway Uarbry   Telstra
Glanmire Optus
Tanja  Optus
Lowanna East Optus
Sunnyside Optus
Mount Bodangora Optus
Bannaby Hill  Optus
Mt Mary  Optus
Rosebank  Optus
Cawongla  Optus
Goolmangar Optus
Rock Valley Optus
Anembo Optus
Majors Creek Optus
Rouchel Brook Optus
Cataract Telstra






Top of page