Appointments to the Industrial Relations Commission of NSW

Published: 16 May 2021

Released by: Minister of State

Two new commissioners will join Commissioner John Murphy, who has been reappointed to the Industrial Relations Commission of NSW, the Special Minister of State has announced.

Christopher Muir and Daniel O’Sullivan will start at the IRC later this year. 

Special Minister of State, Don Harwin congratulated Mr Muir and Mr O’Sullivan on their appointments and Commissioner Murphy on his reappointment.

“I am delighted that they have accepted the appointments. The experience they bring will serve the people of NSW well in these important positions. I wish them every success in their new roles,” he said.

“Mr O’Sullivan brings a wealth of industrial experience to the role. He is currently a member of the Bar and has 30 years’ experience in industrial relations, both as a barrister and an industrial relations practitioner. Mr O’Sullivan has extensive experience dealing regularly with the IRC,” Mr Harwin said.

“Mr Muir brings with him a diversity of experience in various public and private sector roles, including decades specialising in industrial relations and employment law.

“Commissioner Murphy, who was first appointed in December 2015, understands the differing perspectives of each of the parties in a dispute or other industrial matters and bring vast experience to the commission.”

The IRC hears industrial disputes and settles employment conditions and remuneration for employees primarily in the NSW public sector and local government.

Mr Muir will commence his appointment from 30 August 2021 and Mr O’Sullivan will commence on 22 October 2021. Commissioner Murphy’s one-year reappointment commences on 27 July 2021.

Top of page