New Board Appointments for the State Cultural Institutions

Published: 10 Dec 2021

Released by: Minister of State

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin today confirmed nine new appointments and sixteen reappointments across the six NSW State Cultural Institutions that are set to take effect from 1 January 2022.

Mr Harwin said the Cultural Institutions will benefit from the strategic expertise, passion and fresh perspectives of the new appointments.

“The latest appointments will bring an incredible range of experience, energy and fresh ideas that will be invaluable to each Board, particularly as the Institutions to work through the impacts of COVID-19.”

“I look forward to working with new and existing members of the Boards to deliver excellent outcomes for each Institution and for the people of NSW.”

Mr David Gonski AC and Ms Sally Herman are reappointed to the Art Gallery of NSW Trust, with Ms Paris Neilson, Ms Caroline Rothwell and Mr Lachlan Edwards joining as new appointments. Mr John Borghetti AO and Mr Ben Quilty finish their terms at the end of the year. Mr Gonski will continue as President.

The Australian Museum Trust welcomes the reappointment of Ms Maile Carnegie, Ms Josephine Sukkar AM and Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt AO.

Professor Greg Melleuish, Mr John Azarias and Ms Loretta Di Mento join the Historic Houses Trust, with Ms Sharon Veale, Mr Roderick Simpson and Ms Ruth Medd finishing their terms.

Reappointed to the Library Council of NSW is the Hon. George Souris AM, Ms Kathy Bail, Mr Robert Cameron AO, Dr Ursula Dubosarsky, Mr Mark Tedeschi AM QC, and Ms Victoria Weekes. Ms Keryl Collard has stepped down, and Ms Kay Delahunt has filled the casual vacancy.

Mr David Borger OAM, Mr Mark Hassell, Ms Kellie Hush and Mr Eddie Woo have been reappointed to the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Trust, while Ms Beau Neilson will take up a new appointment as Ms Paddy Carney’s term ends.

Ms Anne Dunn has stepped down from the Sydney Opera House Trust. David Campbell OAM will join the Trust and Mr Kevin McCann AO has been reappointed for another term.

Top of page