ePlanning making life easier for homeowners

Published: 13 May 2020

Released by: Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government, Minister for Customer Service

Homeowners across the State are the biggest winners from the NSW Government’s ePlanning initiative, with new figures released today showing increased transparency and reduced DA assessment times.

Minister for Customer Service Victor Dominello and Minister for Planning and Public Spaces Rob Stokes said the results of the initiative reinforce the Government’s plan to mandate ePlanning this year across 42 councils in metropolitan Sydney, Illawarra, Newcastle and Central Coast.

“The initiative with 26 councils has been an overwhelming success – there’s been a 20-day reduction in assessment times where advice is needed from State agencies, 23 per cent of online DAs have been submitted outside office hours, and 1779 hours’ have been saved for councils and local residents,” Mr Dominello said.

“Councils in metropolitan Sydney, Illawarra, Newcastle and Central Coast determine more than two-thirds of all DAs lodged in NSW, accounting for approximately $39 billion in investment value for the State’s economy.”

Mr Stokes said mandating ePlanning in these councils is a key part of the Government’s program to reform the NSW planning system to improve its transparency, certainty and timeliness.

“We’re transforming the planning system by replacing an old paper-based system with a digital platform. Providing customers and councils with real-time information boosts transparency, avoids delays and provides greater visibility of development proposals,” Mr Stokes said.

The mandate will require councils to complete the following via the NSW Planning Portal:

  • Commence use of all relevant digital services, including the lodgement of DAs, Complying Development Certificates (CDCs), and post-consent certificates;
  • Process 100 per cent of all planning applications (DAs, CDCs and post-consent certificates);
  • Appointment of principle certifying authorities and issue certificates; and
  • All new digital services with go-live dates to be determined in consultation with industry and councils.

An industry reference group will be established to allow stakeholders to provide feedback on implementing the roll-out of mandatory ePlanning.

ePlanning will be mandated for these following councils:

  • Blacktown
  • Blue Mountains
  • Burwood
  • Camden
  • Campbelltown
  • Canada Bay
  • Canterbury-Bankstown
  • Central Coast
  • Cessnock
  • City of Sydney
  • Cumberland
  • Fairfield
  • Georges River
  • Hawkesbury
  • Hornsby
  • Hunters Hill
  • Inner West
  • Kiama
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Lake Macquarie
  • Lane Cove
  • Liverpool
  • Mosman
  • Newcastle
  • North Sydney
  • Northern Beaches
  • Parramatta
  • Penrith
  • Randwick
  • Ryde
  • Shellharbour
  • Shoalhaven
  • Strathfield
  • Sutherland
  • The Hills
  • Waverley
  • Willoughby
  • Wingecarribee
  • Wollondilly
  • Wollongong
  • Woollahra
  • Bayside
Top of page