New committee members to drive NSW film and television industry

Published: 14 Dec 2021

Released by: Minister of State

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin has confirmed Jodi Matterson, Josh Pomeranz, Debra Richards, and Patrick Fair as new appointments to the NSW Film and Television Industry Advisory Committee.

Mr Harwin said the new appointments will bring a breadth of experience to the committee and play an integral role in strengthening the NSW screen industry.

“The NSW film and television industry has had another blockbuster year and the local sector is booming, with over 1,500 screen production businesses employing 9,600 people and generating an annual income of more than $1.6 billion,” Mr Harwin said.

“The distinguished new members bring impressive experience to the committee that will be invaluable to driving the local film and television industry from strength to strength.

“As we welcome the new chair and members to the committee, I extend my gratitude to retiring members, Mouna Zaylah, Bob Campbell, John Edwards, and outgoing chair, Chris Freeland.

“The NSW film and television industry has benefited enormously from their strategic leadership, passion, and determination, and their legacy will be remembered.”

The new members are:

Jodi Matterson: The Sydney-based founding partner and managing director of the Australian arm of Bruna Papandrea’s production company Made-up Stories.  Jodi produced works such as The Dry, Penguin Bloom. Little Monsters, 2:22 and was executive producer on The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, Roar, Wolf Like Me, and Nine Perfect Strangers.

Josh Pomeranz: Managing director of Spectrum Films. Spectrum has strategic alliances and investments, with recent productions including Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Mortal Kombat, June Again, The Drover’s Wife, Alien: Covenant, Lion, Top of the Lake, The Great Gatsby, and many more.

Debra Richards: The most recent CEO of Ausfilm. She has more than 30 years of communications, media, and screen industry experience, 12 years as CEO of the Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association (ASTRA), over 13 years with Australia’s broadcasting regulator and the Australian Broadcasting Authority.

Patrick Fair will take up the role as chair, as Chris Freeland finishes his term at the end of the year.

As stipulated by the Film and Television Industry (Advisory Committee) Regulation 2019 the chair, Mr Patrick Fair, “is to be a member appointed from outside the film and television industry.”

Mr Fair is a Principal at Patrick Fair and a former Partner at Baker McKenzie. He is also a member and former chairman of the Internet Industry Association and a past president of the NSW Law Society.

The members have been appointed for three-year terms, until the end of December 2024, effective from 1 January 2022.

Top of page