Greyhound racing welcomes new top dogs

Published: 12 Jul 2019

Released by: Minister for Better Regulation and Innovation

Minister for Better Regulation and Innovation Kevin Anderson today announced a revamped Greyhound Racing NSW (GRNSW) Board as the industry enters the next phase of its evolution ahead of next year’s statutory review of the Greyhound Racing Act 2017.

Mr Anderson said incumbent director Hugh Armenis has been appointed as the new Chairperson while newly appointed, Rebekah Giles will serve as Deputy Chairperson.

Mr Armenis and Ms Giles have replaced previous Chairperson Morris Iemma and Deputy Chair Yvonne Howie who have stepped down, allowing for a fresh Board to be established ahead of the statutory review.

“I’m also pleased to announce the appointment of new Directors Marissa Cooper, Helen Moorea and Kevin Gordon, and the reappointment of Annette Mullen and Matthew Waring,” Mr Anderson said.

“The new board comes at a pivotal time as GRNSW consolidates its new role as the industry’s commercial body, with the Greyhound Welfare & Integrity Commission starting last year as the industry regulator.”

The latest appointments have accompanied an increase in the number of Directors from five to seven. All applicants were subject to a competitive EOI process and bring a diverse range of skills and experience that will be a great asset to the GRNSW Board.

Mr Anderson thanked Morris Iemma and Yvonne Howie for their outstanding service to the Board as foundation Directors.

“Mr Iemma has played a vital role not only in leading GRNSW during a time of major change, but also as Chair of the panel that advised the Government on landmark reforms that have paved the way for an ethical and sustainable industry.”

GRNSW Chief Executive Officer, Tony Mestrov welcomed the announcement from the Minister.

“I am delighted with the Minister’s announcement of the new board, and welcome the new and returning members. Each brings a unique set of skills which will be invaluable for GRNSW,” Mr Mestrov said.

“I would also like to pass on my congratulations to the new Chairperson, Hugh Armenis, who I have worked closely with during his time as a GRNSW Board member.

“I look forward to working with Hugh and his new board as we continue to grow, and move greyhound racing forward.”

Top of page