Skip to main content

More school playgrounds open to the community these winter holidays

Published: 5 July 2018
Released by: The Premier

Playgrounds, ovals, and sports courts at 166 NSW Government schools will be available for communities to use during the winter school holidays under an expansion of the successful Share Our Space Program, which will now become permanent.

An additional 85 schools have signed on to take part in the $30 million program since it was last held over the autumn school holidays. This is four times the number of schools taking part since it was first launched last summer.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Education Minister Rob Stokes were joined by local member John Sidoti today at Five Dock Public School to announce the winter Share Our Space Program.

“We know local communities have loved having access to school facilities after hours and that is why this successful program is here to stay,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“Schools across our State offer such valuable open and green spaces and it is great that instead of being locked away from the community over the holiday period, they will open for the community to enjoy.”

Mr Stokes said allowing access to school grounds and sports facilities during the holidays was a great way to encourage children to keep active.

“We are delighted that the Share Our Space Program has been so popular,” Mr Stokes said. “We want to expand it so more people can be involved.”

The Share Our Space Program is part of the NSW Government’s recently announced $290 million Open Spaces and Green Sydney package.

Participating schools will receive a $5000 grant they can use to help upgrade their facilities for community and school use. Participating schools will be open during the upcoming school holidays from July 9 to 20, between 8am to 5pm.

Top of page