New appointments for cultural institutions

Published: 3 Dec 2020

Released by: Minister of State

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin today announced four new appointments and twelve reappointments across the NSW State Cultural Institutions, which will take effect from 1 January 2021 for three-year terms.

In addition to these, the Minister confirmed two casual appointments for the National Art School Board from 30 November 2020 to 31 May 2021.  

Mr Harwin said the appointments continue to bring an impressive breadth of experience that will be invaluable to each board. 

“These distinguished people bring significant expertise and experience at a critical time for our cultural institutions which are recovering from the impact of COVID-19,” Mr Harwin said. 

Professor Katherine Belov AO and Mr Brian Hartzer will join the Australian Museum Trust. Ms Jennifer Bott AO, Ms Shauna Jarrett, and Ms Sara Watts are reappointed. Professor Merlin Crossley’s term ends at the end of the year, with Dr Elie Hammam stepping down.

The Art Gallery of NSW Trust welcomes the reappointment Professor Stephen Bruce Dowton. Ms Lucy Turnbull AO stepped down on 31 December 2020, and will take up a new appointment as Chairperson for the Sydney Opera House Trust. 

Ms Anne Dunn, Mr Michael Ebeid AM, Ms Kathryn Greiner AO, Ms Deborah Mailman AM and Ms Kylie Rampa have been reappointed to the Sydney Opera House Trust, with Mr Nicholas Moore finishing his term as Chairperson.

Ms Keryl Collard joins the Library Council of NSW, with Ms Jan Richards retiring. 

Ms Naseema Sparks AM, Ms Penelope Seidler AM and Ms Christine McDiven AM all return to the Board of the Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales.  

Andrew Muston joins the National Art School Board and Ross McDiven has been appointed as Chairperson.

Top of page