New energy to transform NSW

Published: 4 Oct 2016

NSW Premier Mike Baird and Deputy Premier Andrew Stoner today announced a revitalised Cabinet team with five fresh faces ready to bring new energy to the task of transforming NSW.

“This team will build on the outstanding achievements of the past three years and accelerate the delivery of vital new infrastructure and improved services, which is what the community expects” Mr Baird said.

“But more needs to be done, and this is the team to deliver it, with the right mixture of new energy and proven experience.”

The new Ministers are:

  • Pittwater MP Rob Stokes, who becomes Minister for the Environment, Minister for Heritage and Assistant Minister for Planning;
  • Dubbo MP Troy Grant, who becomes Minister for Hospitality, Gaming and Racing and Minister for the Arts;
  • Castle Hill MP Dominic Perrottet, who becomes Minister for Finance and Services;
  • Bathurst MP Paul Toole, who becomes Minister for Local Government;
  • Wollondilly MP Jai Rowell, who becomes Minister for Mental Health and Assistant Minister for Health.

Significant changes in the new Cabinet include the appointments of Andrew Constance as Treasurer, Pru Goward as Minister for Planning, Brad Hazzard as Attorney General and Gabrielle Upton as Minister for Family and Community Services and Kevin Humphries as Minister for Land and Water.

Deputy Premier Andrew Stoner will take on additional economic responsibilities with the portfolios of tourism, major events and small business, as well as Minister for the North Coast.

There is also a significant boost for the Hunter Valley, with Transport Minister Gladys Berejiklian to take on the role of Minister for the Hunter.

Mr Baird paid tribute to the contributions of the outgoing Ministers, Greg Smith and Robyn Parker.

“Greg and Robyn have both made very significant contributions in their portfolios and can both be very proud of their contribution to the community,” Mr Baird said.

The Cabinet will include the new roles of assistant ministers in Health, Education, Planning and Tourism and Major Events, signalling the Premier’s determination to speed up the improvement of services in these four key areas.

Deputy Premier Andrew Stoner said the new frontbench team would continue to deliver for regional communities.

“The new NSW Cabinet has the right mix of experience and fresh faces to continue delivering strong and stable Government for regional NSW,” Mr Stoner said.

“The changes to the frontbench offer generational renewal as well as stability in key portfolios, and gives the NSW Government the best team to take to the next election.

“Troy Grant and Paul Toole have been promoted into Cabinet and have the talent and background to excel in their new portfolios, while Kevin Humphries’ promotion will help ensure the protection of our precious land and water resources.

“I would like to pay credit to outgoing Ministers George Souris and Don Page, who together have more than 50 years of Parliamentary experience, for their immense contribution to the NSW Government over the past three years.

“I am confident our new team will do a fantastic job for the people of NSW and I look forward to working together to continue delivering improved infrastructure and better services for our community,” he said.

Top of page