Nominees for key integrity institutions

Published: 22 Jun 2017

Released by: The Premier

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian today announced the Government has proposed the nomination of Trish McDonald SC and Stephen Rushton SC as ICAC Commissioners, and Bruce McClintock SC as ICAC Inspector.

As previously announced, the Hon. Peter Hall QC, former Supreme Court Judge, has been nominated as the proposed Chief Commissioner of the ICAC.

“The four proposed nominees are highly accomplished legal professionals and will bring a wealth of experience to these important roles,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“We need a strong ICAC to deliver our ongoing commitment to the highest levels of integrity in the public sector.”

The proposed Commissioner appointments have been referred to the Parliamentary Committee on the ICAC for consideration. If approved, a recommendation will be made to the Governor to make the Commissioner appointments after the Independent Commission Against Corruption Amendment Act 2016 has been proclaimed. Mr McClintock’s proposed appointment has been endorsed by the Committee and will be recommended to the Governor.

“This marks the near completion of a significant package of reforms over several years to deliver a stronger and fairer anti-corruption agency, with strong powers to investigate, expose and prevent corruption,” Ms Berejiklian said.

The Government also announced Professor Terry Buddin SC as its proposed nominee as Inspector of the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission (LECC). Professor Buddin has extensive legal and judicial experience, including service as a Justice of the Supreme Court of NSW from 2002-2012.

Professor Buddin’s proposed appointment has been endorsed by the Parliamentary Committee on the Ombudsman, LECC and Crime Commission and will be recommended to the Governor.

The reconstituted ICAC and the LECC are both scheduled to commence operations in July 2017.

Top of page