Skip to main content

Parliament to herald new era of reform

Published: 7 May 2019
Released by: The Premier

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Deputy Premier John Barilaro welcomed the resumption of NSW Parliament today with a pledge to deliver on the NSW Liberals & Nationals’ commitment to improving the lives of people across NSW.

Ms Berejiklian said the NSW Government will ensure all of its election commitments are delivered.

“This Government has put people at the heart of everything it does and I look forward to continuing that with the resumption of Parliament,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“I want to thank all returning MPs and want to particularly note the excellent diversity amongst new MPs who will no doubt bring with them unique perspectives that will lead to better outcomes for the citizens they serve.”

The new NSW Government MPs are:

  • Justin Clancy (Albury);
  • Peter Sidgreaves (Camden);
  • Gurmesh Singh (Coffs Harbour);
  • Dugald Saunders (Dubbo);
  • Wendy Lindsay (East Hills);
  • Wendy Tuckerman (Goulburn);
  • Robyn Preston (Hawkesbury); and
  • Nathaniel Smith (Wollondilly).

Mr Barilaro said the resumption of Parliament brings the attention of regional issues to centre stage in Sydney.

“Since the conclusion of Parliament last year, regional MPs have travelled countless kilometres to meet with constituents to make sure we are addressing the issues that concern them,” Mr Barilaro said.

“With the sitting year now commencing we will put those issues back at the heart of government.”

The Premier said the Government will modernise Parliament to ensure it effectively serves the people of NSW. “I want this Parliament to be the most modern and progressive place of debate in the country,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“Of course, tradition is important, but we need to work harder to ensure that the Parliament better reflects, and responds to, the community it serves.

“Parliament should always be focused on the people, not on itself. This means less focus on process and more focus on outcomes.

“Parliament should be more relevant for all members of our community, so that their confidence in our democratic processes is enhanced.”

To launch this reform process, Ms Berejiklian has written to the Presiding Officers of both Houses of Parliament to request the procedure committees of each House to provide recommendations to her by June 30.

Top of page