Premier's Multicultural Media Award winners announced

Published: 4 Oct 2016

Released by: The Premier

The first Indian Prime Ministerial visit to Australia in almost 30 years and the Muslim community’s response to police raids last September were among the winning entries announced at the 2015 Premier’s Multicultural Media Awards.

NSW Premier Mike Baird and Minister for Multiculturalism John Ajaka announced the winners at a gala event at Doltone House in the Sydney CBD this evening.

“The multicultural media has flourished in NSW and we’re proud to recognise journalistic achievements through these awards,” Mr Baird said.

“A record 128 entries were submitted this year across 12 categories and I would like to congratulate all of our winners and finalists for their outstanding efforts.”

Mr Ajaka said the Premier’s Multicultural Media Awards highlight the importance, quality, and professionalism shown by the community media in NSW.

“At a time when the mainstream media is contracting, the multicultural media is thriving and we welcome the contributions made by media professionals who play such an important role in keeping our ethnic communities informed,” Mr Ajaka said.

Winners of the 2015 Premier’s Multicultural Media Awards:

  • Best Investigative Story: SBS Radio – Naomi Selvaratnam
  • Best Print Publication: Indian Link Media Group
  • Best Radio Report: SBS Radio – Wolfgang Muller
  • Best Feature: SBS Radio – Kumud Merani
  • Best Online Publication: Ang Kalatas
  • Best Print Report: The Indian Telegraph
  • Best Editorial/ Commentary: Youthink Magazine - Mostafa Rachwani
  • Best Image: The Australian Jewish News - Noel Kessel
  • Best Community TV/Radio Report: Asian Media Centre - ‘Dragon Footprints’ series
  • Best Article on Multiculturalism: SBS – Dateline - Amos Roberts
  • Best Use of Online and Digital Media: SBS Australia
  • Young Journalist: Tahmina Ansari
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr Kamahl Ibram
Top of page