Skip to main content

Professor Hala Zreiqat wins top accolade at 2018 NSW Women of the Year Awards

Published: 8 March 2018
Released by: The Premier

An extraordinary contribution to regenerative medicine and orthopaedic research in NSW and an unwavering commitment to improving opportunities for women around the world has won Professor Hala Zreiqat the top accolade at the 2018 NSW Women of the Year awards.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Women Tanya Davies today announced the winners of seven award categories, at a breakfast ceremony at the International Convention Centre Sydney.

“The selflessness and skill that all of the winners and finalists have shown echo through their communities and make real positive impacts on people’s lives,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“On behalf of the NSW Government I commend each of the winners for their outstanding achievements, and look forward to seeing what they do next.”

Mrs Davies said a record number of votes were received this year, with more than 14,000 people taking part online.

“The Awards are an important opportunity to acknowledge women who are driving important change through their passions and purpose and we would like to sincerely thank them for contributing so much to NSW,” Mrs Davies said.

Winners in each of the individual categories are:

  • 2018 NSW Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year – Professor Hala Zreiqat
  • 2018 NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award – Carmen Julie Shelley
  • 2018 First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award *new in 2018 – Norma Ingram
  • 2018 Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year Award – Shaza Rifi
  • 2018 Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award – Juliet Duffy
  • 2018 Community Hero Award – Dr Raji Ambikairajah
  • 2018 NSW Business Woman of the Year Award – Kristy Chong

To learn more about finalists and winners please visit

Top of page