Public Service Leadership Changes

Published: 4 Oct 2016

Released by: The Premier

NSW Premier Mike Baird today announced a number of changes to the senior leadership of the NSW public service.

Mr Baird confirmed Mark Paterson AO will be leaving his role as Secretary of NSW Trade and Investment, which he has held since 2011. Mr Paterson will remain in his current role until June to assist the transition to the new departmental structure.

In addition, Phil Gaetjens, Secretary of NSW Treasury, has decided to return to Canberra, where his family is based. Mr Gaetjens has agreed to continue in his current role, which he has held since 2011, until the 2015-16 Budget is handed down in June.

Mr Baird announced that Simon Smith will be appointed to the new role of Secretary of the Department of Industry, Skills and Regional Development, following Mr Paterson’s departure. Since 2014, Mr Smith has been Chief Executive of the Office of Finance and Services.

Mr Smith joined the NSW public service in 1994. Prior to his current role, he acted as Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet for five months, and before that was Deputy Secretary, Productivity and Sustainability Group, in the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Mr Baird said, “I would like to thank both Phil and Mark for their outstanding service to NSW.

“We are fortunate to have had public servants of their calibre lead their respective Departments.

“I wish them the very best in their future endeavours.”

The Government will begin a recruitment process to fill the roles of the Secretary of the NSW Treasury, the Secretary of the Department of Transport, and the Secretary of the newly created Department of Finance, Services and Innovation.

Top of page