Skip to main content

The search is on for 2021 theatre and visual arts fellows

Published: 9 February 2021
Released by: Minister of State

The NSW Government has announced the return of two prestigious Fellowship programs for 2020/21, New Dimensions – NSW Visual Arts (Established) Fellowship in partnership with the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA), and the Incubator Fellowship in partnership with Griffin Theatre.

Minister for the Arts, Don Harwin said the Fellowships will open doors for emerging and established artists and further develop the creative talent in the state.

“The NSW Government is committed to creating opportunities to grow the skills of NSW's arts and culture sector and increase opportunities and jobs in the state’s vibrant arts and culture sector.

“We’re excited to continue the government’s partnership with the MCA through the New Dimensions Fellowship for the third year. This opportunity supports established visual artists from across NSW to advance their careers.

“Griffin Theatre Company is one of Australia’s most dynamic theatre companies, and the Incubator Fellowship, now in its second year, is a wonderful career pathway for the selected artists to bring their strong creative vision to life,” said Mr Harwin. 

The New Dimensions Fellowship will support the ongoing professional practice of a visual arts practitioner in NSW. Create NSW will award the Fellow $30,000 in funding for a professional development program or other significant opportunity, with further support for an additional project or acquisition provided by the MCA up to the value of $20,000.

The Incubator Fellowship is delivered in partnership by Create NSW and Griffin Theatre Company and is valued at $50,000 (including in-kind support). Up to four theatre practitioners in the early stages of their career will be selected for a three-month residency at Griffin to develop a new work for production by Griffin, and professional mentorship with the company. 

Applications for the New Dimensions and Incubator Fellowships are now open and close at 5pm AEDST on Monday 8 March 2021. Visit the Create NSW website for more information and to apply.

Top of page