The Sir Roden Cutler John Monash Scholarship - NSW Premier's Award

Published: 4 Oct 2016

The Baird Government will in perpetuity fund a prestigious John Monash Foundation postgraduate scholarship, named in honour of the former NSW Governor Sir Roden Cutler.

NSW Premier Mike Baird made the announcement today at an Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce event in Sydney.

“Since 2003 the John Monash Foundation has awarded these prestigious scholarships to outstanding individuals with leadership potential who have excelled in their chosen field,” Mr Baird said.

“I am delighted to announce the NSW Government will fund the perpetual scholarship, to be known as The Sir Roden Cutler John Monash Scholarship – NSW Premier’s Award.

“It is essential we identify and nurture the next generation of leaders and this scholarship will give recipients the opportunity to engage in postgraduate study at a leading international institution.

“We are making this significant perpetual investment so we can fund one to two outstanding potential leaders every year, forever.

“It is fitting we name this prestigious scholarship after Sir Roden Cutler who served NSW and Australia with honour.

“Sir Roden had a distinguished military service career, served as a diplomat for many years, and was the longest-serving NSW Governor from 1966 to 1981.

“I commend the John Monash Foundation for running this world-renowned scholarship program.”

Jillian Segal AM, the Chairman of the John Monash Foundation said: “We are delighted with this commitment to fund a perpetual scholarship for a talented NSW graduate. This investment in future human capital shows great leadership and will benefit the State for years to come.”

John Monash Scholarships are awarded for up to three years of postgraduate study, which may be conducted at a leading university outside of Australia.

The Sir Roden Cutler John Monash Scholarship – NSW Premier’s Award will be targeted at NSW graduates and the winner will be selected by the John Monash Foundation in consultation with the NSW Government.

Top of page