Skip to main content

2017 Australian of the Year Awards nominations

23 June 2016
Do you know a hero? Why not nominate them for an Australian of the Year Award?
ScaleWidthWyIxMDI0Il0 catherine760x440

Nominations for the 2017 Australian of the Year Awards rely on public submissions of outstanding fellow Australians.

There are four Awards categories:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior of the Year (65 years and over)
  • Young Australian (16 - 30 years)
  • Australia’s Local Hero

The Awards operate at two levels - state/territory and national. State and territory selection committees select four finalists for each award category, with one of these finalists becoming the state/territory award recipient. State/territory award recipients then become the national finalists for the awards.

Nominations can be made on the Australian of the Year Awards website until midnight 7 August 2016.

View past Award finalists and recipients

Top of page