Skip to main content

NSW awards for excellence in nursing & midwifery

11 September 2014
The State’s most skilled and dedicated nurses and midwives were honoured at the 2nd annual NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.
ScaleWidthWyIxMDI0Il0 140911 nursing and midwifery awards 2.

The ceremony took place at Parliament House. Health Minister Jillian Skinner congratulated 11 award winners and 22 finalists who were chosen from more than 150 nominees.

The awards were divided into 11 categories, including:

  • Excellence in Nursing - Registered Nurse
  • Excellence in Midwifery - Registered Midwife
  • Excellence in Nursing - Enrolled Nurse
  • Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Assistant in Nursing/Assistant in Midwifery
  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Care
  • Excellence in Innovation - Education
  • Excellence in Innovation - Research
  • Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Graduate
  • Consumer Appreciation Award
  • Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award

Mrs Skinner said it was an honour to present the NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards for a second year.

“(Our nurses and midwives) make an enormous difference to the lives of their patients and their patients’ loved ones, not just through their clinical skill but their compassionate and good-natured devotion to their duties”, Minister Skinner said.

“Today we publicly thank each one of the state’s 48,000 nurses and midwives and honour those among them who are considered excellent by patients, colleagues and the community and who are judged by an esteemed panel to be leaders in their profession”.

Highlights of the ceremony included Catherine Bateman, a Clinical Nurse Consultant from the Southern NSW Local Health District, being awarded the Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is named in honour of Judith Meppem, who was NSW’s first Chief Nurse, serving in the role between 1990 and 2002.

Top of page