September marks bushfire danger period for coastal NSW

Published: 1 Sep 2021

NSW residents are reminded to be prepared as 1 September marks the start of the bushfire danger period for 21 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the state’s coastal areas.

Bushfire in rural NSW


LGAs entering their bushfire danger period from 1 September 2021 are: Muswellbrook, Singleton, Mid-Coast, Port Macqurie-Hastings, Clarence Valley, Ballina, Byron, Tweed, Nambucca, Kempsey, Bellingen, Coffs Harbour, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Kyogle, Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Upper Hunter, Bega Valley, Eurobodalla and Shoalhaven.

They join the Armidale, Walcha, Uralla, Glen Innes Severn, Inverell and Tenterfield LGAs, whose bushfire danger period started on 1 August. Remaining areas of NSW are scheduled to commence their bushfire danger period on 1 October.

Police and Emergency Services Minister for David Elliott said it is important that communities in these areas are aware of their bushfire risk. Recent rains have increased grass and crop growth, which raises the threat of grass fires in dry weather.

“Grass fires can be especially volatile, and it is important landowners take safe and practical steps to mitigate their risk,” Mr Elliott said.

“We remind the communities entering their bushfire danger period that they now have additional responsibilities and must obtain the required approvals before lighting any fires and ensure they have adequate firefighting resources on hand.”

People who fail to seek a permit before lighting fires can face fines of up to $5500 and/or 12 months’ jail, while escaped burns attract penalties of up to $110,000 and/or five years’ jail.

Read more information about bushfire danger periods and fire permits from the NSW Rural Fire Service

Top of page