Skip to main content

Vote now for the NSW Women of the Year Awards!

11 February 2016
Who will be NSW’s Women of the Year for 2016? Cast your vote now!
ScaleWidthWyIxMDI0Il0 women year award 760x480

Finalists for the 2016 NSW Women of the Year Awards have been announced and it's time to cast your vote.

Almost 250 nominations were received for the awards with 12 finalists selected for three categories: Regional Women of the Year, Community Hero Award and Young Women of the Year.

Minister for Women Pru Goward said each of the nominees has made immense contributions to the community and deserve recognition for their achievements.

“The number of women nominated is a testament not only to the contributions and success of the nominees, but to our community’s desire to see them rewarded for their efforts.

The list of finalists includes volunteers, founders of not-for-profit organisations, up-and-coming medical researchers and community leaders across NSW.

The finalists are:

Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year

  • Mrs Kelly Foran, Glen Innes
  • Ms Jodie McRae, Lismore
  • Ms Karol O’Brien, Port Macquarie
  • Ms Annette Steele, Orange

A.H Beard Community Hero Award

  • Professor Fadia Ghossayn, Punchbowl
  • Mrs Kathy Kelly, Lindfield
  • Ms Brenda Miley, Bondi
  • Ms Cate Turner, Lane Cove

Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year

  • Dr Dharmica Mistry, Pyrmont
  • Ms Laura O’Reilly, Collaroy
  • Ms Annie Walsh, Leichhardt
  • Dr May Wong, Strathfield

The public has until 11.59pm on Sunday, 28 February, 2016 to get their entries in.

The winners will be announced on 9 March 2016 at a gala ceremony in NSW Parliament.

Go to the Women NSW website to read about each finalist's contribution to NSW and to vote.

Top of page