Skip to main content

Winners announced in Premier's Awards for Public Service

14 November 2013
NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell has congratulated the winners of the 2013 NSW Premier's Awards for Public Service at an awards ceremony in Sydney.
ScaleWidthWyIxMDI0Il0 publicserviceawards 620x385 1

Mr O'Farrell said the awards recognised the achievements of the public service and its partners in the private and non-government sector.

"It's a pleasure to showcase the initiatives, projects and strategies that have been achieved by public sector employees, who have delivered effective customer services while creating value for the NSW community," he said.

"A key goal of the NSW public service is to deliver value to the public, and that's why I chose 'value' as the theme of this year's awards.

"Among the winners is The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network, which has been recognised for customer service delivery for a nurse-led screenings and referral program that’s successfully connecting refugees and students to the health system.

"NSW Public Works has been recognised for helping build the economy with its alternative sewerage plant design that reduces costs and environmental impacts.

"The winner of the Premier’s Award for Individual Excellence and Achievement this year goes to the Head Teacher of Automotive at Wagga Wagga TAFE, Wayne Jenkins.

"Wayne’s innovation and passion toward helping his students meet the needs of the auto industry has enabled TAFE to build close relationships with car manufacturers, expand its course offerings, and roll-out courses to campuses across NSW.

"Each of the winners has been recognised for going the extra step in their contributions to the public service to help improve the services being offered."

The Premier’s Public Sector Award winners in each category are:

  • Delivering Quality Customer Services: The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network
  • Revitalising Regional NSW: TAFE Western Institute
  • Building Infrastructure: Roads and Maritime Services
  • Building the Economy: NSW Public Works
  • Strengthening the Environment and Communities: Frank Baxter Juvenile Justice Centre
  • Improving Performance and Accountability: HealthShare NSW
  • Premier's Partnership Award: Sydney International Rowing Regatta
  • Premier's Award for Excellence in Public Service Delivery: Royal Far West
  • Premier's Award for Individual Excellence and Achievement: Wayne Jenkins, Head Teacher Automotive at Wagga Wagga Campus, TAFE NSW Riverina Institute

For more details on the winners, visit the Public Service Awards website.

Top of page