Skip to main content

Planning to get your rider licence? Make sure you know what motorcycles or scooters you’re allowed to ride

Learner and provisional licence holders are restricted from riding more highly powered motorcycles.

The following motorcycles are approved for novice riders: 

  • Motorcycles built before December 1960, with an engine capacity less than 660ml.
  • Motorcycles with electric powered engines, with a power output not in excess of 25kW.
  • Motorcycles with an engine capacity under 260ml except:

            - Suzuki RGV250

            - Kawasaki KR250 (KR-1 and KR1s models)

            - Honda NSR250

            - Yamaha TZR250

            - Aprila RS250

For all other motorcycles, please enter your motorcycle make and model below to see if it’s approved.

Search motorcycles you can ride

Motorcycle power and weight is based on manufacturer data supplied for Australian Design Rules compliance. Motorcycles cannot be modified or restricted in order to be reclassified as approved motorcycles.

Top of page