NSW school holidays

Check this year's school term dates and holidays for 2022 and 2023.

On this page

COVID-19 updates and guidance

Find out about the COVID-19 safety measures at NSW schools. 

Learn more about COVID-19 rules and restrictions.

NSW school term and holiday information

The Department of Education sets the term and school holiday dates for all NSW public schools.

School development days occur at the beginning of Terms 1, 2 and 3 and the last two days of the school year. Check with your school, as schools may vary some of these dates.

School speed zones operate on all notified school days, including school development days.

Holiday dates for NSW public schools

2022 school year  
Autumn holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 11 April to Friday 22 April 2022
Winter holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 4 July to Friday 15 July 2022
Spring holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 26 September to Friday 7 October 2022
Summer holidays

Eastern division
Wednesday 21 December 2022 to Thursday 26 January 2023

Western division
Wednesday 21 December 2022 to Thursday 2 February 2023

2023 school year  
Autumn holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 10 April to Friday 21 April 2023
Winter holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 3 July to Friday 14 July 2023
Spring holidays Eastern and Western divisions
Monday 25 September to Friday 6 October 2023
Summer holidays

Eastern division
Wednesday 20 December 2023 to Monday 29 January 2024

Western division
Wednesday 20 December 2023 to Monday 5 February 2024


Term dates for NSW public schools

2022 school year First day for students Last day for students
Term 1 
(Eastern division)
Friday 28 January 2022 Friday 8 April 2022
Term 1 
(Western division)
Friday 4 February 2022 Friday 8 April 2022
Term 2 
(Eastern and Western division)
Tuesday 26 April 2022 Friday 1 July 2022
Term 3  
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 18 July 2022 Friday 23 September 2022
Term 4 
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 10 October 2022 Tuesday 20 December 2022
 
2023 school year First day for students Last day for students
Term 1 
(Eastern division)
Friday 27 January 2023 Thursday 6 April 2023
Term 1 
(Western division)
Friday 3 February 2023 Thursday 6 April 2023
Term 2 
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 24 April 2023 Friday 30 June 2023
Term 3  
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 17 July 2023 Friday 22 September 2023
Term 4 
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 9 October 2023 Tuesday 19 December 2023
 
Top of page