The Welcome Experience

Many regional NSW communities are experiencing a shortage of essential workers in frontline services, including teachers, nurses and police. The Welcome Experience aims to encourage more essential workers to move into regional communities, while providing the support they need to settle in and become one of the locals.

A boy with blonde hair, a girl with blonde hair in pigtails and a woman with dark hair sit outside at a wooden table. They have plates of toast and fruit in front of them and there are two cups and two coffee mugs. They are all smiling

What is The Welcome Experience?

The Welcome Experience is designed to facilitate, attract, prepare and welcome essential workers to regional, rural and remote NSW.

The program matches and connects new essential workers with local people and resources to help them settle in and feel at home in their new community faster.

We know that when people feel part of the community they live in, they have a better lifestyle experience and as a result, stay in communities longer. The Welcome Experience will support new essential workers to create that connection to community and their new home quickly and smoothly. This will help to keep essential workers and their families in regional towns longer, delivering frontline services and building stronger communities.

Host Organisations

Host organisations will be based in the community and will deliver concierge-like services to new essential workers. They will provide support with relocation and integration into regional communities – everything from the practicalities of finding a place to stay, to choosing care and education. They’ll also let the essential worker in on the local secrets, and encourage them to join clubs, teams and community groups.

Where is The Welcome Experience offered?

The Welcome Experience is being rolled out in eight pilot locations in 2023 – Bega, Broken Hill, Coffs Harbour, Corowa, Griffith, Goulburn, Muswellbrook and Walgett. 

Who is Eligible?

Essential workers eligible for The Welcome Experience are: 

  • Department of Education and Training employees, including primary and secondary school teachers and non-teaching staff  
  • NSW Health employees, including nurses, allied health professionals, ambulance staff, visiting medical officers and specialists employed through the Local Health District  
  • NSW Police Force employees  
  • Department of Communities and Justice employees 
  • NSW Fire and Rescue employees.  

When will The Welcome Experience start?  

The Welcome Experience will be launching in different locations over the coming months. This page will be updated with information about how to get in touch with your host organisation as they come on board.

In the meantime, if you have any questions about The Welcome Experience, please email the team.

The pilot locations

Operated by the Bega Chamber of Commerce.

Broken Hill
Operated by Regional Development Australia - Far West.

Coffs Harbour
Operated by Service NSW.

Operated by Service NSW.

Operated by Regional Development Australia - Riverina.

Operated by Regional Development Australia - Southern Inland.

Operated by Muswellbrook Shire Council.

Operated by the Department of Regional NSW.

Registration for The Welcome Experience

To register for The Welcome Experience please complete the form below:

Which NSW Government agency do you work for or have received an offer of employment for?
Which regional town/s in NSW are you considering relocating to?

Your personal information will only be used for the purpose you are providing it in this form. Please read the privacy collection notice for more information about how we handle your information.

On this page
Top of page