Department of Education

Our purpose is to prepare young people for rewarding lives as engaged citizens in a complex and dynamic society.

Contact us

Online: Compliments, complaints and suggestions
Main physical address: 105 Phillip Street, Parramatta NSW 2150
Main postal address: GPO Box 33, Sydney NSW 2001
Phone: 1300 679 332

About us

The NSW Department of Education is the largest provider of public education in Australia with responsibility for delivering high-quality public education to two-thirds of the NSW student population. 

Our public schools service the diverse range of communities across the state, enabling all children and young people to have access to quality education.

We ensure young children get the best start in life by supporting and regulating the early childhood education sector. 

We support the delivery of a skilled and employable workforce for NSW through post-school vocational education and training, as well as higher education.


Our department is one of nine super-clusters. We report to these two Ministers.

Sarah Mitchell

Sarah Mitchell

Minister for Education and Early Learning
Alister Henskens, Minister for Families, Communities and Disability Services

Alister Henskens

Minister for Skills and Training; Minister for Science, Innovation and Technology

Related information

Training Services NSW is the division of Department of Education that looks after vocational education and training.

Browse all agencies

The NSW Government Directory provides the contact details for all government departments, agencies, offices and entities within NSW.

covid safe logo


Information and advice on the novel coronavirus called COVID-19 for community and businesses in NSW.

Social media


the Department of Education on

Top of page