Local health districts

Six local health districts cover the Sydney metropolitan region, and 9 cover rural and regional NSW.

Specialty networks also provide a range of services.

Registered nurse with patient

Caring for our community

In NSW, 15 local health districts (LHDs) manage public hospitals and health facilities and provide a range of health care services to defined geographical areas across the state.

LHDs are responsible for promoting, protecting and maintaining the health of our community.

A male doctor speaking to a patient

Specialty networks

Specialty networks cover children's and paediatric services; justice health and forensic mental health, and public health services.

Top of page