Premier’s Awards for Public Service 2017

Published: 2 Nov 2017

Public sector employees have been recognised at the 2017 Premier’s Awards for Public Service.


The awards recognise the achievements of the public service and its commitment to delivering quality customer services.

This year, a focus of the awards was on showcasing achievements and progress towards the NSW Premier’s 12 priorities.

The Premier’s Award winners in the individual categories

  • Improving Education Results: Lorraine Bradwell, Head Teacher at Woonona Public School, NSW Public Schools.
  • Improving Government Services: Andrew Dinger, Station Manager, Sydney Trains.
  • Improving Service Levels in Hospitals: Dr Andrea Issler-Fisher, Head of the Scar Clinic at Concord Hospital, Sydney Local Health District.
  • Driving Public Sector Diversity: Glenn Primmer, Head of Strategic Change & Workplace Culture, Create NSW.

The Premier’s Award winners in the team categories

  • Improving Education Results: Curiosity and Powerful Learning, St Johns Park Public School, NSW Public Schools
  • Improving Government Services: Ability Links NSW, Ability Links Providers State-wide, Family and Community Services.
  • Improving Service Levels in Hospitals: Bridging Vast Distances with Value Critical Care Model, Western NSW Local Health District.
  • Keeping our Environment Clean: Cessnock Reserves Litter Reduction Strategy, National Parks and Wildlife Service, Office of Environment and Heritage.
  • Protecting Our Kids: Child Abuse Squad, NSW Police Force.
  • Reducing Domestic Violence: Safer Pathway, Legal Aid NSW, NSW Police, Women NSW, Victims Services at the Department of Justice.
  • Reducing Youth Homelessness: Youth Housing Options Program (YHOP), Hume Community Housing Association.
  • Tackling Childhood Obesity: Aboriginal Go4Fun, NSW Office of Preventative Health.
  • Building Infrastructure: Wynyard Station Upgrade, Transport for NSW, Novo Rail Program Alliance.
  • Creating Jobs: Easy to do Business, Service NSW, Department of Finance, Services & Innovation Better Regulations team, Office of the NSW Small Business Commissioner, Department of Premier and Cabinet.
  • Driving Public Sector Diversity: Employ-my-ability, Sydney Local Health District, Jobsupport.
  • Making Housing More Affordable: Reducing red tape to facilitate investment in our community, Port Stephens Council and More Homes in Hornsby Shire, Hornsby Shire Council.

The winner of the Anthea Kerr Award is Dr Andrea Issler-Fisher, Head of the Scar Clinic at Concord Hospital, Sydney Local Health District.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian said it was a pleasure to showcase the highly successful initiatives that had been implemented by public sector employees.

“Each of the finalists has demonstrated their dedication to providing exceptional levels of service and innovation in delivering positive results for their customers and communities, and all should be congratulated,” Ms Berejiklian said.


Top of page