Skip to main content

Award winners showcase environment excellence

Published: 25 September 2013
Environment Minister Robyn Parker hosted the NSW Government’s environmental awards at a ceremony at NSW Parliament House last night.

Ms Parker said this year’s winners show us that no matter the size or type of organisation, investing in environmental sustainability brings social and economic benefits to the community.

"The GPT Group won the Premier’s Award for Environmental Excellence for their good governance that embeds sustainability practices into day-to-day operations," Ms Parker said.

"Already leaders in environmental excellence, the GTP Group continue to improve their performance through their subsidiary, Innogen Australia, dedicated to investigating new ways to improve energy use across their portfolio.

"The inaugural Heritage Sustainability Award was won by Mawland Group who manage North Head’s Q Station and strike the right balance between conserving our heritage and adopting innovative adaptive reuse practises.

"Q Station has successfully restored 65 heritage buildings, actively protects 30ha of natural bushland and operates a commercially viable and internationally renowned tourist attraction.

"Other winners included the Wollongong social enterprise, Renewable Recyclers, who won the Regional Sustainability Award for their e-waste project that also provides employment for disadvantaged Australians and people with a disability.

"Up to 30 employees collect and recycle more than 750 tonnes of e-waste a year and offer 'renewed' and affordable computers to lower income households and community groups.

"The NSW Government hosts these annual awards to foster opportunity and partnership with the community and to showcase environmental excellence in NSW.

"It’s exciting to see this year’s winners sharing their knowledge and ideas with others, helping to make businesses, communities and government more sustainable."

2013 Green Globe Award Winners

Premier’s Award for Environmental Excellence
The GPT Group
Nimbin Neighbourhood & Information Centre
Public Sector Sustainability Award
Youth Eco Summit - University of Western Sydney, Sydney Olympic Park Authority and
Department of Education and Communities
Energy Award
Hunter TAFE
Local Government Sustainability Award
City of Sydney
Water Award
Riverina Water County Council
Small Business Sustainability Award
Oak Flats Bowling & Recreation Club
Waste and Recycling Award
Bankstown City Council
Climate Change Leadership Award
Climate Friendly
Built Environment Sustainability Award
DEXUS Property Group
Environmental Innovation Award
Business Sustainability Award
The GPT Group
Regional Sustainability Award
Renewable Recyclers
Community Sustainability Award
Nimbin Neighbourhood and Information Centre
10 Year Sustainability Achievement Award
Sydney Olympic Park Authority
Heritage Sustainability Award
Mawland Quarantine Station
Environment Environment
Top of page