Winners of the Aboriginal Student of the Year Award

Published: 27 Sep 2016

NSW Aboriginal Student of the Year Award winners have arrived in Sydney to attend a leadership forum at Parliament House.

The 70 winning students are from various electorates in NSW and spent the day meeting with inspirational Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander leaders and participating in one-on-one discussions.

The day also included a leadership panel discussion, a tour of Parliament House and a visit to the Aboriginal artefact display at the Australian Museum.

NSW Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Leslie Williams said the Aboriginal Student of the Year is a new award recognising young people who demonstrate leadership within their school and local community.

“These students are already making outstanding contributions in their communities and schools and this forum will give them an opportunity to meet with Aboriginal leaders in the world of entertainment, law, business and sport,” Mrs Williams said.

The leaders at the forum included CEO of the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence Kirstie Parker, former Rugby League player George Rose and The Voice Kids singer Mi-Kaisha Masella.

Read more about NSW Aboriginal Affairs

Top of page