Skip to main content

Border restrictions ease between NSW and Victoria

17 September 2020

Eased restrictions will allow residents to move more freely between border communities from 17 September 2020.

The relaxed border restrictions will mean:

  • Victorian residents will not be obliged to comply with stay-at-home orders imposed in regional Victoria while in NSW
  • Victorian residents will not be restricted to entering NSW for permitted purposes only.

Residents will be able to travel within the border region for any reason with a current permit.   

The restrictions will expand to other areas, including:

  • Pleasant Hills
  • Lockhart
  • Benalla
  • Bright
  • Mount Beauty.

Health Minister Brad Hazzard said the changes follow relaxed restrictions in regional Victoria.

“We are able to ease restrictions on the border given the reduced risk of COVID-19 transmission in regional Victoria,” Mr Hazzard said.

“NSW and Victoria border communities have been extremely resilient during this one-in-100 year pandemic as we continue to fight the challenges of COVID-19.”

Learn more about border restrictions

Top of page