Skip to main content

Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards 2017

Published: 12 May 2017

Nominate an outstanding NSW Health nurse or midwife by 9 June 2017.


The annual Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards recognise NSW Health nurses and midwives for the tireless work and significant contribution they make to their profession.

Award categories include:

  • Excellence in Nursing – Enrolled Nurse
  • Excellence in Nursing – Registered Nurse
  • Excellence in Midwifery – Registered Midwife
  • Excellence in Innovation in Education Award
  • Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Healthcare.

Health Minister Brad Hazzard encouraged anyone who knows an outstanding nurse or midwife to nominate them.

“I encourage community members, patients and colleagues to put forward any nurse or midwife working in the public health system who has made a real difference to the lives and experiences of their patients,” Mr Hazzard said.

“We now employ a record 49,900 nurses and midwives and I want to personally thank each and every one of them for their tireless dedication and compassion.”

NSW Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer Jacqui Cross also paid tribute to the state’s nurses and midwives.

“I wholeheartedly thank our nurses and midwives for providing quality, patient-centred care and making a difference for people in our communities,” Ms Cross said.

The winners will be announced and presented with their awards on 14 September 2017.


Awards Health
Top of page