More local government areas added to solar incentive

Published: 17 Dec 2021

More residents across Greater Sydney can access free solar systems from the expanded Solar for Low-Income Households program.

A man installing solar panels on a rooftop

Applications for a $50 million program expansion are open to residents from an additional 12 more local government areas, including Bayside, Blacktown, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool, Parramatta, Strathfield, and Penrith.

Treasurer and Energy and Environment Minister Matt Kean said the initiative will help more eligible homeowners install free solar systems on their roofs.
“The upfront cost of installing a rooftop solar system can be prohibitive for many low-income households, so we’ve set up this great offer so homeowners can unlock the savings offered by solar,” Mr Kean said.

To be eligible for the Solar for Low Income Households program, homeowners must also:

  • Hold a valid Pensioner Concession Card or Department of Veterans’ Affairs Gold Card and currently receive the Low-Income Household Rebate.
  • Agree not to receive the Low-Income Household Rebate for 10 years.
  • Own their own house.
  • Not have a solar system already.

 Read more about solar energy for low-income households

Top of page