Ride for free on the Northwest Metro

Published: 22 May 2019

Travel on the new Northwest Metro will be free on Sunday, 26 May 2019, when the turn-up-and-go rail line opens to the public.

The 13 Northwest Metro stations will open to the public at 11am on Sunday. The last metro train will leave Chatswood at 10:05pm and Tallawong at 9:35pm.

The Opal gates at all Northwest Metro stations will stay open all day, so customers travelling between metro stations only won’t need to tap on and off.

Customers travelling on other public transport from outside the area or going beyond Chatswood will still need to tap on and off using their Opal card.

Transport Minister Andrew Constance said he expects large crowds to come and experience the new Northwest Metro.

“We are asking people to expect queues and large crowds, and spread their trips across the entire day,” Mr Constance said.

“There will be buses stationed around the network to support the Metro as we bed in the new service, and more than 150 staff working in the field across the North West Metro line, at stations, roads and bus stops to help customers get around the network.”

Northwest Metro stations

  • Tallawong station
  • Rouse Hill station
  • Kellyville station
  • Bella Vista station
  • Norwest station
  • Hills Showground station
  • Castle Hill station
  • Cherrybrook station
  • Epping station
  • Macquarie University station
  • Macquarie Park station
  • North Ryde station
  • Chatswood station.

For all trip information visit www.transportnsw.info

Find out more about the Sydney Northwest Metro

Top of page