2017 Emergency Services Awards winners

Published: 5 Apr 2017

Young volunteers across NSW have received awards for the NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) and NSW State Emergency Service (SES) Cadet of the Year and Young Volunteer of the Year.

The winners of this year’s awards are:

  • RFS Cadet of the Year – Javen Ricevuto, Balranald Central School, Region South.
  • SES Cadet of the Year – Sasha Cox, Broken Hill High School, Far West Region.
  • RFS Young Volunteer of the Year (12-15 years) – Alexander Slade, Williamtown/Salt Ash Rural Fire Brigade, Region East.
  • RFS Young Volunteer of the Year (16-25 years) – Elizabeth Butt, Bendick Murrell Rural Fire Brigade, Region West.
  • SES Young Volunteer of the Year (16-25 years) –Yvette Amos, NSW SES Snowy River Unit, Southern Highlands Region.

Congratulating the winners, Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant said recent natural disasters in NSW highlight the invaluable contribution of volunteers and the need to recruit, train and retain young volunteers to ensure the strength of our emergency service agencies into the future.

“We cannot thank our emergency services volunteers enough. These impressive youngsters are already making a great contribution and I wish them all the best in their future endeavours,” Mr Grant said.

An increasing number of young people are volunteering for emergency service organisations, and NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said it was great to see their engagement and commitment.

“The effort and enthusiasm of young members in the RFS is significant and these awards acknowledge their hard work, camaraderie and community participation,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

NSW SES Commissioner Mark Smethurst said the NSW SES provides professional training and diverse experience so young people could take their enthusiasm for providing assistance and turn it into a professional career.

Become an SES volunteer
Volunteer in the NSW RFS

Top of page