Skip to main content

School and public holidays

Check this year's school term dates and find public holidays for 2020 and 2021.

On this page

COVID-19 travel advice

If you're planning a trip, check the travel and transport advice for the latest on border restrictions, holidaying in NSW or travelling interstate.

School term dates

The Department of Education sets the term and school holiday dates for all NSW public schools.

School development days occur at the beginning of Terms 1, 2 and 3 and the last two days of the school year. Check with your school, as schools may vary some of these dates.

School speed zones operate on all notified school days, including school development days.

NSW Education Calendar 2020


Term First day for students Last day for students
Term 1 
(Eastern division)
Tuesday 28 January 2020 Thursday 9 April 2020
Term 1 
(Western division)
Tuesday 4 February 2020 Thursday 9 April 2020
Term 2 
(Eastern and Western division)
Wednesday 29 April 2020 Friday 3 July 2020
Term 3  
(Eastern and Western division)
Tuesday 21 July 2020 Friday 25 September 2020
Term 4 
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 12 October 2020 Wednesday 16 December 2020

Year 12 formals: COVID-19 Safety Plans

See the resources and guidance developed to help you plan for COVID Safe Year 12 events

NSW public holidays

Holiday 2020 2021
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January 2020 Friday 1 January 2021
2Australia Day Monday 27 January 2020 Tuesday 26 January 2021
Good Friday Friday 10 April 2020 Friday 2 April 2021
Easter Saturday
(the Saturday following Good Friday)
Saturday 11 April 2020 Saturday 3 April 2021
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April 2020 Sunday 4 April 2021
Easter Monday Monday 13 April 2020 Monday 5 April 2021
Anzac Day Saturday 25 April 2020 Sunday 25 April 2021
Queen's Birthday Monday 8 June 2020 Monday 14 June 2021
1Bank Holiday Monday 3 August 2020 Monday 2 August 2021
Labour Day Monday 5 October 2020 Monday 4 October 2021
Christmas Day Friday 25 December 2020 Saturday 25 December 2021
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December 2020 Sunday 26 December 2021
3Additional Day Monday 28 December 2020 Monday 27 December 2021
3Additional Day   Tuesday 28 December 2021

1 Applies to banks and certain financial institutions, see the Retail Trading Act 2008.
2 From 31.12.11 when Australia Day (26th of January) falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day, as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.
3 From 31.12.11 the Holiday Act provides for an extra public holiday to be added when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend.

Daylight saving

Daylight saving in NSW begins at 2am, Eastern Standard Time, on the first Sunday in October and ends at 3am Eastern Daylight Saving Time on the first Sunday in April.

Further Information


Related information

Top of page